Legend’s last words to Acclaim

4 years is a long time. And now, this game we all love, got a big chance to raise again to the old glory it had in 2007. However; I want to give some last words to some of the Acclaim staff:

The Hermit – Damn… So much things happened. You probably don’t remember anymore, but I helped you in 2007. I still remember how you took care of the players back then. But then, you left. 2009 you came back, and hell, I had a lot of respect for this man. Whenever a person was talking bad about The Hermit, I was there, Legend the Vagabond, telling him that The Hermit is “the wisest man in The Land”. But, things changed. The Hermit wasn’t the same anymore. I don’t know what happened, but I wish we could have work together for The Land, how we did it once. But things happened, we were angry, you guys were angry, and everything went worse between our fronts. If I may be honest, I hope I will not play a game anymore where you are in charge, but, I wish you anyway good luck, and I hope you will learn again to listen to your players, like you did once.

Fugen – You’ve always seen us as enemies. I think, that was the reason why we could never talk together. I have proven with some blog articles, when you just started, that I really wanted to see the good things in you. But you never had any interest in co-operation. You are the boss, and your word is order. Isn it like that? When I told you, that if you guys don’t change, then it will become worse, then this was really never a threat. I told you what will happen, simple as that. And now, look what happened. I was right. Your players left 9Dragons and at the end you didn’t keep the game, just as I foretold. I am sure, if we would have talked together, discuss about issues and find a co-operation, then a lot would have been different. I mean, what is so bad about talking together? You got time to read our blog and to post on the forum about us, so why should you not have time to have a conversation with us? Fact is, you were never qualified as a Game Manager. You may have helped internal a lot, but you lack at communication. You shold have talk with your players, instead of calling them ingrates, indirectly stupid, and tell them to shut up. However; What you did at the end was not right, and you know that. Every action has its reaction. I don’t want to say that we, the Project AI Blog, acted always good. Both sides acted like that. But we wanted at least to talk. Your last action against us will bring its reactions.

Ravenclaw – This guy was the first one who showed me „Acclaim-guys are not created equal“. He showed me, that there are indeed people in the Acclaim staff, who try to communicate with the players, and who work hard for the statisfaction of them. But one person on his own rarely changes anything. I will never forget our first few chats on MSN, when I told him what I think about Acclaim (not him) and what they do wrong. But this man kept calm and told me that he could not change a lot, since he is just a regular Game Master. He told me over and over again, how hard he is trying to change the things in a good direction, and after a short time already, I saw him as “new hope for 9Dragons”. When he was not promoted to Head GM, he was frustrated, of course. He wanted to leave Acclaim. He wanted to change something, but didn’t get any chance. Of course I could feel him. I understood the frustration he had, and of course I thought “Always the same with Acclaim…”. At the end he stood up for himself and said what he thinks. He told drakenfyre what he thought about her, and yes, these were hard words. But he did it, finally, after so long time. This made me smile… It remembered me on some conflicts we had. I told him what I think about a person he likes very much, and he got mad, really mad, and wanted to hunt all authors from our blog. But even if I had conflicts with him, he was the best GM Acclaim ever had. And this got it’s reasons. Not always, but almost all the time I knew you, I had respect for you. You earned my respect very fast. You may be childrish sometimes, but you are a good person, trying to help, and believing in the good of the people. Stay like that. I wish you all the best in your life. And I wish, you were right with „her“, and I and all the other people were wrong.

It is, somehow, indeed a sad moment. But after all, it’s Acclaim’s own fault. If they would have care more about the players, the players would be more statisfied. It isn’t enough to have happy forum moderators and game VGMs. The players is the mass. More statisfied players means more players using the Item Mall and paying money. More money means a higher income. Higher income means, no need to sell the whole Acclaim Studio to another company. But you did it your own way, and now Acclaim ended, for the second time.

But it is also a good moment. The new publisher seems to be very professional and to care about its players. 9Dragons got the chance to raise again to its old glory. Maybe even more. What this really will bring, nobody can say yet. But one thing is sure: It can not be worse.

Written by
Legend – The Son of The Vagabond

33 responses to “Legend’s last words to Acclaim

  1. Yes, it can’t be worst.4 years is a lot of time and friends out there, enemies too. Acclaim sow in the community the biggest enemy and that was a mistake.

  2. You forgot to mention here other jokes of GM’s like BluFlash. It was funny how he always posted promotions but didn’t have time to actually respond to any questions or do something for the community and the game. Nevertheless, he always responded to any promo-related issue or posts that criticised him. Let’s not forget Acclaim Acid and his statements about “warriors being made for dungeons and bosses”. And ofcourse there were many others there thinking and acting in the same Acclame line. Although some of them didn’t stay long, the impact they had on the game was a detrimental one and slowly but surely it got to the miserable state we all knew.

    On the other hand I really had a nice oppinion of Fugen, as i really liked how he took down hackers (even if some were IM users) and he found time to respond to PM’s (even if slowly), but seeing how in the end decided that his last actions were to keep silent about the upcoming problems and take childish revange on you guys just made me sick. As i said other times, i doubt we will ever see this kind of incompetence here at G1…

  3. For me Acclaim guys were all the same, in fact they didn’t get any of my respect because they didn’t care for the players. In the end they get what they desearve it.

  4. Fugen last actions because he couldn’t take the truth show me a weak person and a person that is not a man. He was childish. I hope G1 will give back your accounts.
    On the other hand, was 4 years of bad and happy times. All reduce to Acclaim fault.

  5. Kane was a good GM if not for warda. IT is not good to mix GM work with personal life. warda also did a lot for the community.

  6. The mental attitude gives your entire personality a drawing power that attracts the circumstances, things and people you think about. If they would think about us, why an advice from us was so hard to take? I don’t understand.

  7. The meeting of you Legend and Fugen was like the contact of two chemical substances; if there is any reaction, both are transformed. Was not the case.

  8. Once a great man said ‘ Only strong personalities can endure history, the weak ones are extinguished by it ‘. Who left now ?

  9. I just want to know how Fugen fill out thecensus papers. Every time Acclaim ‘scored MONEY’, we answered right back. That says a lot about Acclaim. There just aren’t that many roles written for him now.

  10. To raise new questions, new possibilities, to regard old problems from a new angle, requires creative imagination. They never knew that.

  11. A community manager role is to raise players aspirations for what they can become and to release their energies so they will try to get there. Acclame wanted only $, didn’t care about anything else.

  12. They never took the critics from the community, because they were too arrogant and how they said it : “we know what is best for you”.

  13. ‘It is, somehow, indeed a sad moment. But after all, it’s Acclaim’s own fault. If they would have care more about the players, the players would be more statisfied. It isn’t enough to have happy forum moderators and game VGMs. The players is the mass. More statisfied players means more players using the Item Mall and paying money. More money means a higher income. Higher income means, no need to sell the whole Acclaim Studio to another company. But you did it your own way, and now Acclaim ended, for the second time.’

    Indeed, if they wouldn’t see Acclaim have been drow to bankruptcy.

  14. Because they never listen the community problems and tried to fix them, they lost everything.in fact they are noobs.

  15. Your customers can tell you the things that are broken and how they want to be made happen. Listen to them. Make them happy. But in the end, even so, you have to have actions too. They never listen and they never did anything either.

  16. Acclaim lied too much, too fast that was devastating . Ultimately what will make a game successful is having an intentional community stable enough and happy.

  17. I’d say a bit differently, as a community manager you should LISTEN to your players to learn about PROBLEMS and you should deliver the solutions.

  18. I think is important to listen to community problems and solutions. They only had to reinvent the 2007 game climate.

  19. Players experience is obviously important and that is a fact. Acclaim lost from sight this simple principle.

  20. LoL guys, this is what happens when you play free games on the internet : you never have the security that your account won’t be deleted or somehow lost.
    That’s why WoW owns the market.
    Money makes the difference.

Leave a Reply

